Mohali are Punjab Twenty-20 Champions

The Punjab State Inter District Tournament culminated with Mohali emerging as the winner with 16 points followed by Amritsar as runners up with 12 points (NRR -0.03) piping Jalandhar 12 points (NRR -0.224) on net run rate, Patiala 8 points Chandigarh 8 points Ludhiana 4 points followed in that order.

In their last league match Mohali made short work of arch-rivals Chandigarh at GMSSS Sector 26 Chandigarh when they handed them a huge 77 runs defeat and garner 4 points to take their points tally to 16 and race to the top of the league table. Winning the toss and opting to bat Mohali scored 195 for 9 in 20 overs. Subeer Hayer (39) off 21 balls with 2 boundaries and four sixes along with Anil Yadav added 45 runs for the 2nd wicket before Subeer Hayer was castled by Karan Azad. Thereafter skipper Gurkirat Mann and Anil Yadav put on 39 runs for the 3rd wicket before Anil Yadav was caught by Karan Azad off Gaurav Gambhir for 19. At this stage Ramandeep joined Gurkirat Mann and the duo put on 40 runs for the 4th wicket before Ramandeep was caught by Karan Azad off Bhagmender for 21 off 10 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries and one six. Gurkirat Mann went on to score a blistering half century (56) off 30 balls with 6 boundaries and 3 sixes before he was caught by Gaurav Gambhir off Bhagmender. For Chandigarh Siddharth Kaul 2 for 20 Bhagmender Singh 3 for 29 , Karan Azad 1 for 15, Arpit Singh 1 for 41 shared the spoils.

Replying Chandigarh lost their skipper Manan Vohra on the first ball when he was castled by Manpreet Goni before he could open his account. Thereafter Sarul Kanwar and Arjit Singh put on 53 runs for the 2nd wicket before Sarul Kanwar was caught by Manender off Gurkirat Mann for 39 off 21 balls studded with 3 boundaries and 3 sixes. Chandigarh kept on losing wickets at regular intervals and finally their innings folded at 118 in 17 overs. For Mohali Varun Khanna 3 for 27, Jaskaran Singh 3 for 24, Manpreet Goni 1 for 11, Gurkirat Mann 1 for 21 and Harmanvir Singh 1 for 12 shared the spoils.

In the second match played at I.S. Bindra Stadium PCA Mohali, Amritsar defeated Patiala by 15 runs to garner 4 points while Patiala got zero. Put into bat by Patiala Amritsar scored 168 for 6 in allotted 20 overs. They were helped in their cause by 78 runs stand for the 4th wicket between Navneet Virk and Mohit Handa. The stand was broken when Mohit Handa was caught by Sanvir off Rajwinder Gollu for 40 off 33 balls with 3 boundaries and one six. Navneet Virk went on to score 61 off 45 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries and 3 sixes before being caught by Sukhwinder at long on off Rajwinder Gollu. Rohan Marwaha 27 and Sharad Lumba 22 being the other contributors with the bat. For Patiala Beant Singh 2 for 32, Rajwinder Gollu 2 for 39, Gurvinder Bhullar 1 for 27 and Sanvir Singh 1 for 25.

Replying Patiala scored 153 for 4 in 20 overs. Sanvir Singh unbeaten 73 off 53 balls with 7 boundaries and Anmolpreet Singh 32 off 34 balls with 3 boundaries were involved in a 81 runs stand for the 3rd wicket which was broken at the score of 100 when Anmolpreet Singh was

caught by Vinay Chaudhary off Shivluv. For Amritsar Kamal Passi 2 for 36 and Shivluv 1 for 28 shared the spoils.

In the 3rd match played between Jalandhar and Ludhiana at I.S. Bindra Stadium PCA, Jalandhar defeated Ludhiana by 28 runs to garner 4 points while Ludhiana got zero. Winning the toss and electing to bat Jalandhar rattled up 186 for 8 in 20 overs. They were helped in their cause by a swash buckling innings of 73 by their opener Pargat Singh off 27 balls studded with 3 boundaries and 8 huge sixes, Mandeep Singh Sr. 31 off 22 balls with 3 boundaries and Abhishek Gupta 28 off 13 balls with 4 boundaries and one six were the other prominent run getters. For Ludhiana Simranjit Singh 3 for 28 Krishan Kumar 2 for 34, Nikhil Chaudhary 2 for 32 and Bhupinder Singh 1 for 22 shared the spoils.

Replying Ludhiana scored 158 for 8 in 20 overs. Nikhil Chaudhary 34, Talwinder Singh 21, Kashish 22 and Baltej singh 27 were the principal run getters for Ludhiana. For Jalandhar Prerit Dutta 3 for 26, Pargat Singh 2 for 21, Rahul Sharma 1 for 45 and M.Singh 1 for 27 were the main wicket takers.